Who we are, what we do

The Regional District of Kootenay Boundary is a regional government that serves more than 33,000 residents in the beautiful West Kootenay and Boundary regions in the southeastern BC Interior.

Our region stretches across 8,200 square kilometres from Champion Lakes in the east to Bridesville and Big White in the west and runs south along the Canada-US border.

We encourage you to explore this site. Find out more about your local government and the services, amenities and opportunities available in this beautiful region we call home.

We provide services in recreation and culture, planning, building inspection, environmental programs, economic development and public safety services for fire and other emergencies. We also carry out all aspects of corporate administration including management of regional government finances, legislative services and public communications and engagement

We are home to eight incorporated municipalities - Fruitvale, Montrose, Trail, Warfield, Rossland, Grand Forks, Greenwood and Midway - and five unincorporated electoral areas - Area A, Area B/Lower Columbia-Old Glory, Area C/Christina Lake, Area D/Rural Grand Forks and Area E/West Boundary. 

Our Board of Directors has a corresponding thirteen members – one director from each municipal council and one director from each electoral area. Our Board makes key decisions related to strategic planning, bylaws and policies and ensures residents in our region receive the services you as citizens have collectively asked us to provide.